Skip to Content

### Top 5 Study Abroad Scholarships for Indian Students in 2024

NEW DELHI: In the ever-changing landscape of education, the quest for academic progression frequently aligns with the need for financial assistance. Indian students aspiring for higher education have a plethora of scholarship opportunities at their disposal, aimed at alleviating the financial constraints associated with pursuing advanced degrees. These scholarships span diverse fields of study, serving as a vital support system for talented individuals while nurturing a culture of academic excellence.

In the current era of constant evolution, this article sheds light on five scholarships tailored for Indian students planning to pursue studies abroad in 2024. These scholarships offer a glimpse into the myriad opportunities awaiting eager learners embarking on their educational endeavors this year.

National Overseas Scholarship Scheme for SC 2023-24

The National Overseas Scholarship Scheme for SC 2023-24, spearheaded by the Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India, is specifically crafted for students hailing from SC, Denotified Nomadic and Semi-Nomadic Tribe, Landless Agricultural Labourer, and Traditional Artisan backgrounds. This initiative provides financial assistance to students pursuing master’s or Ph.D. programs overseas.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Age should not exceed 35 years as of the first day of April in the selection year.
  • Applicants must belong to Scheduled Castes (SC)/Denotified Nomadic Tribes, Semi-Nomadic Tribes/Landless Agricultural Labourers/Traditional Artisans.
  • Aspiring candidates should be inclined towards pursuing a master’s level course or Ph.D. degree abroad.
  • Attainment of a minimum of 60% marks or an equivalent grade in the relevant master’s degree (For Ph.D. applicants).
  • Attainment of a minimum of 60% marks or an equivalent grade in the relevant bachelor’s degree (For Master’s applicants).
  • The annual family income should not exceed INR 8,00,000 per annum.

NITI Internship Scheme 2023

The NITI Internship Scheme 2023, an endeavor by the Government of India in collaboration with NITI Aayog, is tailored for undergraduate, graduate, postgraduate degree students, or research scholars currently enrolled in recognized universities or institutions, either in India or abroad. This internship program aims to foster a mutually beneficial relationship between young academic talent and the initiatives undertaken by NITI Aayog.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Must be a legitimate student currently enrolled in any recognized university or institution, whether in India or abroad.
  • Undergraduate applicants should have completed or appeared in the term-end exams of the second year or fourth semester of the bachelor’s degree, with a minimum of 85% or equivalent marks in Class 12.
  • Graduate applicants should have completed or appeared in the term-end exams of the first year or second semester of the postgraduate program, or be actively engaged in research/Ph.D. pursuits, with a minimum of 70% or equivalent marks in their graduation.
  • Individuals awaiting admission to higher studies post completion of the final exam of Graduation/PG are also eligible.
  • A cumulative score of 70% or higher in all years or semesters of the graduation/postgraduation until the application date is a prerequisite for consideration.

Chevening Scholarship

The Chevening Scholarship, a prestigious international award program funded by the UK government’s Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO), extends its support to exceptional emerging leaders worldwide, offering them the opportunity to pursue one-year master’s degrees in the UK.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Citizenship of a fellowship-eligible country or territory.
  • Demonstration of potential for assuming leadership roles and making a significant impact.
  • Exhibition of personal, intellectual, and interpersonal qualities indicative of leadership potential.
  • Commitment to returning to the country of citizenship post the fellowship period.
  • Possession of a postgraduate level qualification or equivalent professional training/experience in a relevant field at the time of application.
  • Fulfillment of all fellowship-specific eligibility requirements for the program.
  • Non-possession of British or dual British citizenship.

Fulbright-Nehru Master’s Fellowships

The Fulbright-Nehru Master’s Fellowships target individuals with exceptional leadership qualities, holding the equivalent of a U.S. bachelor’s degree, possessing a minimum of three years of professional work experience, and dedicated to returning to India to contribute meaningfully to their communities.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Possession of a U.S. bachelor’s degree equivalent from a recognized Indian university, with a minimum of 55% marks. Applicants must hold either a four-year bachelor’s degree, a completed master’s degree, or a full-time postgraduate diploma from a recognized Indian institution if the bachelor’s degree duration is less than four years.
  • Accumulation of at least three years of full-time paid professional work experience relevant to the intended field of study by the application deadline.
  • Demonstration of a track record of experience in leadership and community service.

Agatha Harrison Memorial Fellowship

The Agatha Harrison Memorial Fellowship, a fully funded scholarship for Indian students, is administered by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India. Successful candidates are granted a status akin to that of a Junior Research Fellow at the University of Oxford.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Attainment of 60% or above until the PhD.
  • Age bracket: 30 – 40 years.
  • Accumulation of 3 years of teaching experience.